Who We Are

Skaneateles Lake Association, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation and a member of the New York State Federation of Lake Associations and the Finger Lakes Regional Watershed Alliance (FLRWA). Nov 1st 2014

Our History

  • In 1969, the Skaneateles Lake Pure Water Association, Inc. was incorporated to protect and preserve Skaneateles Lake and its watershed.
  • In 1971 it received federal tax exempt status under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code.
  • In 1992 the Tri County Skaneateles Lake Association, an unincorporated association, was formed to continue and expand the work of the corporation.
  • In 1999, these entities were merged and an amendment was filed with the State of New York changing the name to the Tri County Skaneateles Lake Pure Water Association, Inc., a not-for-profit corporation. Our tax exempt status was continued and all contributions are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.
  • In January 2011, the Board of Directors of the Tri-County Skaneateles Lake Pure Water Association, Inc. voted to change its name to the Skaneateles Lake Association, Inc. and legally assume Tri-County’s tax-exempt status.

Our Goals

In order to ensure the integrity of the lake and its watershed for generations to come, our goals are to:

  • Educate residents, government agencies and others using the lake about threats to the lake and its watershed.
  • Take all action necessary to protect and improve the water quality of Skaneateles Lake and to protect and improve its watershed.
  • Promote environmentally and aesthetically sound regional management of Skaneateles Lake and its watershed by encouraging cooperation among the Skaneateles Lake watershed municipalities.
  • Engage in activities appropriate to further the mission of the corporation including public education, community organizing, fund-raising, publicity, working with village, town, county, state and federal officials.

To help us achieve our goals, please become a member of the Skaneateles Lake Association, Inc.

Our Members

The members of the Skaneateles Lake Association are individuals and families who live in the Skaneateles Lake community. Some own lake front property, some own property with lake rights and some are community members who just love the lake and appreciate the water they drink and all that the lake offers to the community as a place for an recreation, a setting for a variety of musical and art programs and a place for peaceful relaxation.

Our members are full time residents, seasonal residents and week-end residents. While some live in large homes on large properties there are more that live in smaller homes and smaller properties. Many of our members own smaller seasonal houses or camps that provide just what they need to come and enjoy the lake whenever they can. Some of our members are from families that have been living on the lake or in the lake community for generations. Some are relative “newcomers” who are wise to recognize the value of the lake to the community and join soon after relocating. Some of our members do not actually live in the community, but travel here regularly to enjoy the lake and its beautiful water and vistas in a variety of watercraft from motorboats to sailboats, fishing boats, kayaks and canoes

There are two things common to all of our members: love of the lake and recognition of their responsibility for helping to keep its water clear and pure.

Skaneateles Lake Association Board of Directors

Paul F. Torrisi, MD – President
W. “Buzz” Roberts, MD – Vice President
Patricia Orr – Secretary
Richard D. Hole, Esq. – Treasurer

David Allyn
Dave Birchenough
William Dean, PhD
Jed Delmonico
J.D. Delmonico, MBA
Robert DeWitt
Charles Driscoll, PhD
Fran Fish, RN, MS
Joseph E. Grasso, MILR
Dana Hall, PhD
Brian J. Harkins
William Hecht, MS
Deborah M. Hole, MS
Cornelius B. Murphy, Jr., PhD
Kim Persse
Peter Plumley, PhD
Kate Ryan
James Tifft, MD

Advisory Council
Eric Allyn
Dave Birchenough
John Cohlan
Mac Cummings
Ben Eberhardt
Michael Hearn
Linda Lemura, PhD
Joanie Mahoney
Dave Matthews, PhD
Mike McMahon
Jerry Morrisey
Andy Robinson
Sam Rowser
Maureen Soderberg, MD
Paul Torrisi, Jr.
Andy Zepp

Program Advisors
Heidi Busa – Skaneateles Lake Emerging Watershed Scientists (SLEWS) Program
John Menapace – Milfoil Project

Skaneateles Lake Association Staff
Frank Moses – Executive Director
Susan Rowe – Communications Manager
Kevin Donnelly – Dr. Robert Werner Research & Education Boat Pilot